## Library Advisory Committee Meeting Minutes March 3, 2014

Present: Ms. Taryn Anthony, Dr. Lori Bruch, Dr. Tracey Collins, Dr. Carol A. Cote', Dr. Harry Dammer, Dr. Marian L. Farrell, Chair, Dr. Michael Fennie, Dr. Teresa Grettano, Mr. Eugeniu Grigorescu, Dr. Andrew LaZella, Assistant Dean Jean Lenville, Dr. Yibai Li. Dr. Bob McCloskey, Prof. Sheli McHugh, Prof. Betsey Moylan, Dr. Christos Pargianas, Dean Charles Kratz, Dr. Adam Pratt, Mrs. Elizabeth Shomaker, Dr. Yamile Silva, Associate Dean Bonnie Strohl, Ms. Caroline Swift, Prof. Narda Tafuri, and Dr. Ben Willis.

Unable to attend: Prof. Mr. George Aulisio, Dr. Terri Freeman-Smith, Dr. Barry X. Kuhle, Dr. Nathan Lefler, Prof. Bonnie W. Oldham, Dr. Argyrios Varonides, Prof. Donna Witek, and Prof. Kristen Yarmey.

The meeting came to order at 12:05 p.m. On a motion by Dr. Bruch, seconded by Dr. LaZella, the minutes were approved as written.

Dean Kratz reported that a Library Advisory Committee page with the roster, agenda, minutes

Baillie secured for the Library for next year. Depending on recruitment for next year's class, it may be necessary to reduce departmental allocations. For new programs and to support accreditation for departments, it is important to maintain the Library's budget.

Following some discussion, it was decided not to write a letter of support from the Library Advisory Committee for funding for Library acquisit project. The facility will include Writing Center satellite rooms. Slides of Prof. McHugh's presentation are available on the Library Advisory Committee documents page.

Ms. Strohl tantalized those present with what they would have seen if our trial to the *CQ Researcher* had not expired. This stimulated so much interest in seeing the database that it should be considered as a strategy for future presentations. (*CQ Research* is now available on the Library's A-Z list of databases)

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 12:55 p.m. Respectfully submitted, Bonnie Strohl